top of page


The official name of Bangladesh is The People’s Republic of Bangladesh. Bangladesh is located in the north-eastern part of South Asia. The majestic Himalayas stand some distance to the north, while in the south lays the Bay of Bengal. Bangladesh shares land borders with India to the west, north, and east, Myanmar to the southeast. Under the leadership of the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Bangladesh became an independent and sovereign country in 1971 after nine months of Liberation War against Pakistan

Brief Statistics:

(as updated in October 2020)

bottom of page